Introduction

Who God Is

This post is going to need a lot  of revising, because it feels ridiculous to leave my last post without a follow up, but at this moment I want to briefly continue:

To me, I believe that Gods’ defining quality is love.

Other people disagree with me. I think that there is plenty of biblical and historical evidence that they are right and that I am wrong.

There is also plenty of biblical and historical evidence that I am right and they are wrong, and if there are two contradictory pieces of evidence, I choose to believe that Gods’ defining quality is love, not wrath, violence, discrimination, omnipotence, or whatever.

Therefore, Gods’ love is the context in which I choose to interpret my faith. This is important, because so much else for my faith depends on this, and so much of how I understand other peoples’ (at least Christians’) faiths rely on the principle that they choose to interpret their scripture, theology, history and policy in a different light.

This requires a lot of unpacking, and I don’t intend on unpacking it any time soon, because that wasn’t the plan with this project. I’ll come back to it, I promise.

Standard

2 thoughts on “Who God Is

  1. Jonathan says:

    While it sounds like this project is mostly for your own sanity and reference, I for one am looking forward to reading more of it. I resonate very strongly with what I see of your perspective so far, along with the need to get it all down somehow.

    I look forward to hearing more.

Leave a Reply

